Unable to find VLC - only if started from a batch file

Post your questions, bug reports and feature requests here
Post Reply
ksdehoff
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:51 pm

Unable to find VLC - only if started from a batch file

Post by ksdehoff » Fri May 24, 2019 6:48 pm

Hello:

Trying to run a slideshow via a batch file (or even the command line). When starting gphotoshow via shortcut it works fine, but starting with a command line "gphotoshow /s..." it gets "unable to find vlc media player". Seems like a bug/environment issue? I've installed the vlc 3.0.6 64 bit version. I've tested this on the 8.0.3 version and also 7.4.10

ksdehoff
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: Unable to find VLC - only if started from a batch file

Post by ksdehoff » Fri May 24, 2019 10:49 pm

A minor update - the problem only exists with the 64 bit/8.0.3 combo. The problem I had with 7.4.10 was because I had vlc 64 bit which is incompatible

ksdehoff
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:51 pm

Re: Unable to find VLC - only if started from a batch file

Post by ksdehoff » Fri May 24, 2019 11:14 pm

OK I solved this - the 8.0.3 also migrates to the 64 bit version which is in program files - I did not uninstall 7.4.10 which caused the confusion.

User avatar
gpb
Site Admin
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Unable to find VLC - only if started from a batch file

Post by gpb » Mon May 27, 2019 8:35 am

Hello,
gPhotoShow Pro v8.x has been released both as 32 and 64 bit, the 64bit version can be installed together with the 32 bit since installation path and names are different. Each version can only detect and use the corresponding VLC version, if you run the 64 bit version of gPhotoShow you must have installed the 64 bit version of VLC.
Gianpaolo Bottin
gPhotoShow.com

Post Reply