Switching between different slideshows

Post your questions, bug reports and feature requests here
vjdeedee
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 3:53 pm

Switching between different slideshows

Postby vjdeedee » Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:32 am

we have a lot of different slideshows and need to switch on different events between them. we tried with controllss and with hotkeys in gphotoshowpro but its not possible, because gphotoshow always uses the multimonitor-setting of the show loaded before. so if we change from a show with 2 monitors and a grid of 3x2 on every monitor to a show with no grid, the grid still remains and vice versa. the only possibility for us was using batch-files which kills the old show and starts the new show like this:

@echo off
call :quiet>nul 2>&1
goto :EOF
:quiet
taskkill /f /im gPhotoShow.exe /T
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\gPhotoShow\gPhotoShow.exe" /s C:\SHOW\show1.gss
timeout /T 30 > nul
taskkill /f /im gPhotoShow.exe /T
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\gPhotoShow\gPhotoShow.exe" /s C:\SHOW\show2.gss
...

to further get rid of ugly command-windows we use vbscript like this:

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject( "WScript.Shell" )
WshShell.Run "C:\SHOW\Scripts\Show.bat",0,True

for even more comfort we use Vectir-Server (vectir.com) to remote contol shows from nice iPad or iPhone controllers. (just start the .bat/.vbs)

So far our solution works fine, despite the problem, that between the shows we got ugly screen-flickering (killing task, starting new gphotoshow).
Is there any way to prevent this and to have switching shows more seemlessly with gphotoshowpro?

regards

User avatar
gpb
Site Admin
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Switching between different slideshows

Postby gpb » Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:27 pm

Unfortunately it is not possible to change monitor configuration without screen flickering, gPhotoShow creates a window for each slideshow and when changing configuration it has to close windows and open them again, for this reason it can't be done on-the-fly. Even if I implement the function inside gPhotoShow it will work exactly as restarting the program. There is no other way.
BTW, to close gPhotoShow you could run the command:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\gPhotoShow\gPhotoShow.exe" /q0

It's better than kill the process.
The file MCommandLine.txt inside the C:\Program Files (x86)\gPhotoShow contains all command line parameter accepted by gPhotoShow
Gianpaolo Bottin
gPhotoShow.com

vjdeedee
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 3:53 pm

Re: Switching between different slideshows

Postby vjdeedee » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:11 pm

thanks for your fast answer & good support!
we buy more licences soon ;)


Return to “gPhotoShow Pro (Photo Screen Saver and Slideshow Maker)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests